Project management

Axel Springer Building


ProjectConstruction of a publishing house building
Project locationBerlin
Services SMVProject management
ClientOffice for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA)
ArchitectsOffice for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA)
Construction costsconfidential
Realisation periodsince 2016
Contact person SMVBernd Hullmann, Christian Wernicke and Arndt Begrich
Project description

The new Axel Springer SE publishing building is being constructed on the 10,000 square meter site between Sch├╝tzenstrasse, Zimmerstrasse and Jerusalemer Strasse. The total rental space of 52,000 square meters, which will be spread over 13 floors, will provide workspace for up to 3,500 employees. The public ground floor will include studios, event and exhibition space, a canteen and restaurants.

The new building, which is being constructed in the immediate vicinity of the existing Springer high-rise, was designed by the renowned Dutch architect Rem Koolhaas OMA (Office for Metropolitan Architecture). The closed structure is divided diagonally into two halves by a light-flooded atrium and opens up to the existing Springer buildings. The levels, terraced floor by floor and facing each other along this division, form a “valley” in their open architectural design, which forms the stage for informal workplaces – a place that also symbolically takes up the questions of the digital age.

The atrium, which rises up to 30 m above the “valley”, is bordered in the area of the facades by a folded glass construction, which visually stands out from the smooth, dark appearing printed office facades.

Project goals

The main project objectives were to obtain the building permit and to develop a recognized planning status for acceptance by a building contractor within the planned cost framework and within the agreed deadlines.

Role SMV

Project management of design and approval planning, contracting concept for the execution of construction.

h

Projektmanagement

Axel Springer Neubau


ProjektNeubau eines Verlagsgebäudes
ProjektstandortBerlin
Leistungen SMVProjektsteuerung
AuftraggeberOffice for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA)
ArchitektenOffice for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA)
Baukostenvertraulich
Realisierungszeitraumab 2016
Ansprechpartner SMVBernd Hullmann, Christian Wernicke
Projektbeschreibung

Auf dem 10.000 Quadratmeter großen Areal zwischen Schützen-, Zimmer- und Jerusalemer Straße wird ein neues Verlagsgebäude der Axel Springer SE errichtet. Die Gesamtmietfläche von 52.000 m², die auf 13 Geschossen verteilt wird, beherbergt Arbeitsplätze für bis zu 3.500 Mitarbeiter. Im öffentliche Erdgeschoss sind Studios, Event- und Ausstellungsflächen, Kantine und Restaurants angeordnet.

Der Neubau, der in unmittelbarer Nähe des bestehenden Springer-Hochhauses entsteht, wurde vom renommierten niederländischen Architekten Rem Koolhaas OMA (Office for Metropolitan Architecture) entworfen. Der geschlossene Baukörper wird diagonal durch ein lichtdurchflutetes Atrium in zwei Gebäudehälften geteilt und öffnet sich zu den bestehenden Springergebäuden. Die entlang dieser Teilung sich gegenüber liegenden geschossweise terrassierten Ebenen formen in ihrer offenen architektonischen Ausbildung ein „Tal“, das die Bühne für informelle Arbeitsplätze bildet –  ein Ort, der auch symbolisch die Fragen des digitalen Zeitalter aufnimmt.

Das Atrium, das sich bis zu 30 m über das „Tal“ erhebt, wird im Bereich der Fassaden durch eine gefaltete Glaskonstruktion begrenzt, die sich optisch von den glatten, dunkel erscheinenden bedruckten Bürofassaden abhebt.

Projektziele

Der Erhalt der Baugenehmigung sowie die Erarbeitung eines anerkannten Planungsstandes zur Übernahme durch einen Bauunternehmer im vorgesehenen Kostenrahmen und innerhalb der Terminvereinbarungen waren die wesentlichen Projektziele.

Rolle SMV

Projektsteuerung Entwurf- und Genehmigungsplanung, Vergabe Konzept Bauausführung

h