Project management

Ludwig Erhard House


ProjectNew office building with stock exchange and service centre
Project locationBerlin
Services SMVProject management
ClientBerlin Chamber of Industry and Commerce
ArchitectsNicholas Grimshaw & Partners, London
Construction costsapprox. EUR 127 million
Realisation period1992-1998
Contact person SMVBernd Hullmann
Project description

The building project Ludwig-Erhard-Haus was built on a plot of land with a surface area of 7 580 m┬▓. The supporting structure consists of fifteen mighty steel arches forming a ribbed structure. A flat, vertical outer wall was placed in front of this supporting structure facing Fasanenstra├če. The individual office floors were suspended from the arches using steel sections. A column-free reception hall and passage on the ground floor opens up two atriums.

The premises of the Ludwig-Erhard-Haus include offices as well as communication and exhibition rooms. In addition, a multifunctional, triple-divisible hall, which can accommodate up to 400 people, and a small lecture hall for 150 people can be used. Service shops and restaurants as well as parking spaces on both floors of the underground car park are also integrated into the Ludwig Erhard House.

In addition to the stock exchange, departments of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry moved into the completed building section of the 1st construction phase, which was to move out of third-party leases in the city area and be concentrated in the new building and on the IHK’s main site. The measure was accompanied by an organisational restructuring of the IHK with the assistance of the project management in the development of alternative concepts for room group, settlement and furnishing plans. In addition, the project management had to steer the concept for the operation, the tendering and the awarding of the facility management.

Role SMV

SMV was commissioned in consortium with Buro Four, London with the comprehensive project management including project management of the project. In this context, an economic feasibility study had to be carried out and a utilization program as well as a rental space marketing concept had to be developed.

Customer benefits

The early integration of real estate operation and management aspects and objectives into the planning under the special conditions of restructuring the client organisation in a building that should also accommodate third-party rental space is a demanding control and coordination task in the complex client structure of a public law institution with corresponding hierarchical structures in the decision-making bodies.

Projektmanagement

Ludwig-Erhard-Haus, Kommunikations- und Servicezentrum IHK/VBKI


ProjektNeubau Bürogebäude mit Börse und Servicezentrum
ProjektstandortBerlin
Leistungen SMVProjektsteuerung
AuftraggeberIndustrie- und Handelskammer zu Berlin
ArchitektenNicholas Grimshaw & Partners, London
Baukostenca. 127 Mio. EUR
Realisierungszeitraum1992-1998
Ansprechpartner SMVBernd Hullmann
Projektbeschreibung

Das Bauvorhaben Ludwig-Erhard-Haus wurde auf einem Grundstück mit einer Fläche von 7 580 m² errichtet. Die Tragkonstruktion besteht aus fünfzehn mächtigen Stahlbögen, die einen gerippten Baukörper bilden. Dieser Tragkonstruktion wurde eine ebene, vertikale Außenwand zur Fasanenstraße hin vorgesetzt. Mittels Stahlprofilen wurden die einzelnen Büroetagen von den Bögen abgehängt. Eine stützenfreie Empfangshalle und Passage im Erdgeschoss erschließt zwei Atrien.

Die Räumlichkeiten des Ludwig-Erhard-Hauses umfassen Büro- sowie Kommunikations- und Ausstellungsräume. Weiterhin können ein multifunktionaler, dreifach teilbarer Saal, in welchem bis zu 400 Personen Platz finden, und ein kleiner Hörsaal für 150 Personen genutzt werden. Service-Shops und Restaurants sowie Stellplätze in den beiden Geschossen der Tiefgarage sind ebenfalls in des Ludwig-Erhard-Haus integriert.

In den fertig gestellten Gebäudeteil der 1. Bauphase zogen außer der Börse auch Abteilungen der IHK ein, die aus Fremdvermietungen im Stadtgebiet ausziehen und im Neubau und auf dem Stammgrundstück der IHK konzentriert werden sollten. Die Maß-nahme ging einher mit einer organisatorischen Umstrukturierung der IHK unter Begleitung durch das Projektmanagement bei der Ausarbeitung von alternativen Konzeptionen von Raumgruppen-, Be-siedlungs- und Möblierungsplänen. Darüber hinaus war die Konzeption für die Betreibung, die Ausschreibung und die Vergabe des Facility Managements durch das Projektmanagement zu steuern.

Rolle SMV

SMV wurde in Arbeitsgemeinschaft mit Buro Four, London mit dem umfassenden Projektmanagement inklusive Projektleitung des Projekts beauftragt. In diesem Zusammenhang war eine Wirtschaftlichkeitsuntersuchung durchzuführen und ein Nutzungsprogramm sowie ein Mietflächenvermarktungskonzept mitwirkend zu erstellen.

Kundennutzen

Die frühzeitige Integration der Immobilienbetreibungs- und -bewirtschaftungsaspekte und -ziele in die Planung unter den besonderen Bedingungen der Restrukturierung der Auftraggeberorganisation in einem Bauwerk, das auch Fremdmietflächen beherbergen sollte, ist eine anspruchsvolle Steuerungs- und Koordinierungsaufgabe bei der komplexen Auftraggeber-Struktur einer öffentlich-rechtlichen Institution mit entsprechend hierarchischen Strukturen bei den Entscheidungsgremien.