Project management

New building Federal Ministry of the Interior


ProjectNew building Federal Ministry of the Interior
Project locationBerlin
Services SMVProject management
ClientBundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung (BBR)
ArchitectsMüller Reimann Architekten, Berlin
Construction costsapprox. EUR 208 million
Realisation period2008-2014
Contact person SMVThomas Lewicz
Project description

On the Moabiter Werder Nord in Berlin-Mitte the new building of the Berlin office of the Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI) is to be constructed. The BMI currently has three locations in Berlin. The new building to be constructed will bring together the three Berlin departments of the BMI, including the Federal Police Department BMI with a total of approximately 1,200 employees. In addition, for economic reasons, provision is being made to accommodate the BMI Bonn in the event of a move to Berlin.

The approx. 31,000 m² federally owned property along the railway line, which is intended for the use of the Ministry (BMI Berlin) as well as its expansion possibilities (BMI Bonn) and other federal uses in a total of 3 construction phases, is located in the immediate vicinity of the government quarter and the new Berlin Central Station. The winning design of the two-phase architectural competition was submitted by the Berlin architectural office Müller Reimann Architekten.

Project goals

The construction project consists of several sub-projects. These include:

  • The main building
  • A two-storey parking deck
  • A guardhouse
  • Control building
  • Safety fence systems
  • Geothermal system with probes in the outdoor area

Due to a slight slope, a very high groundwater level and partly poorly bearing ground, various special civil engineering and foundation methods are required for the construction of excavations and foundations (e.g. trough construction with deep-seated sealing base and sheet pile walls, HDI underpinning, underwater concrete, pile foundation). The building is to be heated by geothermal energy. Planning and execution must meet the highest safety requirements formulated by the BMI, BKA and BSI. The construction site is directly adjacent to a city and long-distance railway line and a public green area. The construction site supply and disposal as well as the construction operation itself therefore place high demands on logistics and process planning.

Role SMV

SMV is contractually bound with the complete project management of the above mentioned measures. All fields of action are covered over all project stages according to the service profile for project management services in the construction and real estate industry.

These are the fields of action:

A) Organization, information, coordination and documentation
B) Qualities and quantities
C) Costs and financing
D) Dates, capacities and logistics
E) Contracts and insurance

and the project stages

1. Project preparation (project development, strategic planning, basic research)
2. Planning (preliminary, design and approval planning)
3. Preparation of implementation (implementation planning, preparation of the award of contracts and participation in the award of contracts)
4. Implementation (project monitoring)
5. Project completion (project supervision, documentation).

On the basis of the competition design of the architects Müller Reimann, the preparation of the design document construction (EW-Bau) was started in March 2008. The EW-Bau was completed in March 2009. The EW-Bau was approved by the Budget Committee of the German Bundestag on 23.04.2009 and released for further planning and execution. Construction work began at the end of 2011, completion is scheduled for the end of 2014 and the building is to be handed over to the user at the beginning of 2015.

h
h
h
h
h
h

Projektmanagement

Neubau Bundesministerium des Innern


ProjektNeubau des Bundesministerium des Innern
ProjektstandortBerlin
Leistungen SMVProjektsteuerung
AuftraggeberBundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung (BBR)
ArchitektenMüller Reimann Architekten, Berlin
Baukostenca. 208 Mio. EUR
Realisierungszeitraum2008-2014
Ansprechpartner SMVDipl.-Ing. Thomas Lewicz
Projektbeschreibung

Auf dem Moabiter Werder Nord in Berlin-Mitte soll der Neubau des Berliner Dienstsitzes des Bundesministeriums des Innern (BMI) entstehen. Das BMI ist derzeit an drei Standorten in Berlin untergebracht. In dem zu errichtenden Neubau sollen die drei Berliner Bereiche des BMI einschließlich des Bundespolizeireviers BMI mit insgesamt ca. 1 200 Mitarbeitern zusammengeführt werden. Darüber hinaus wird aus Wirtschaftlichkeitsgründen Vorsorge für eine Unterbringung des BMI Bonn im Falle eines Umzuges nach Berlin getroffen.

Das ca. 31.000 m² große bundeseigene Grundstück entlang der Bahntrasse, welches für die Nutzung des Ministeriums (BMI Berlin) sowie dessen Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten (BMI Bonn) und weiteren Bundesnutzungen in insgesamt 3 Bauabschnitten vorgesehen ist, befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Regierungsviertel und dem neuen Berliner Hauptbahnhof. Der Siegerentwurf des zweiphasigen Architektenwettbewerbes stammt vom Berliner Architekturbüro Müller Reimann Architekten.

Das Bauvorhaben besteht aus mehreren Teilprojekten. Hierzu gehören:
–    das Hauptgebäude
–    ein zweigeschossiges Parkdeck
–    ein Wachgebäude
–    Kontrollgebäude
–    Sicherheitszaunanlagen
–    Geothermie-Anlage mit Sonden im Außenbereich

Aufgrund einer leichten Hanglage, eines sehr hoch anstehenden Grundwasserspiegels und zum Teil schlecht tragfähigen Baugrunds sind diverse Spezialtiefbau- und Baugrundverfahren zur Baugruben- und Gründungsherstellung erforderlich (z. B. Trogbauweise mit tiefliegender Dichtsohle und Spundwänden, HDI-Unterfangung, Unterwasserbeton, Pfahlgründung). Die Beheizung des Gebäudes ist mittels Geothermie vorgesehen. Planung und Ausführung müssen höchsten sicherheitstechnischen Anforderungen genügen, die vom BMI, BKA und BSI formuliert wurden. Das Baugelände grenzt unmittelbar an eine Stadt- und Fernbahntrasse sowie an eine öffentliche Grünanlage. Die Baustellenver- und -entsorgung sowie der Baubetrieb selbst stellen daher hohe Ansprüche an die Logistik und die Ablaufplanung.

Rolle SMV:    SMV ist mit der kompletten Projektsteuerung der vorgenannten Maßnahmen vertraglich gebunden. Es werden alle Handlungsbereiche über sämtliche Projektstufen gemäß dem Leistungsbild für Projektmanagementleistungen in der Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft abgedeckt. Dabei handelt es sich um die Handlungsbereiche
A)    Organisation, Information, Koordination und Dokumenta¬tion,
B)    Qualitäten und Quantitäten,
C)    Kosten und Finanzierung,
D)    Termine, Kapazitäten und Logistik
E)    Verträge und Versicherungen

und die Projektstufen

1.    Projektvorbereitung (Projektentwicklung, strategi¬sche Pla¬nung, Grundlagenermittlung),
2.    Planung (Vor-, Entwurfs- und Genehmigungspla¬nung),
3.    Ausführungsvorbereitung (Ausführungsplanung, Vorbereiten der Vergabe und Mitwirken bei der Vergabe),
4.    Ausführung (Projektüberwachung),
5.    Projektabschluss (Projektbetreuung, Dokumenta¬tion).
Auf der Grundlage des Wettbewerbsentwurfes der Architekten Müller Reimann wurde im März 2008 mit der Erstellung der Entwurfsunterlage Bau (EW-Bau) begonnen. Die EW-Bau wurde im März 2009 fertiggestellt. Die EW-Bau wurde am 23.04.2009 vom Haushaltsausschuss des Deutschen Bundestages genehmigt und zur weiteren Planung und Ausführung freigegeben. Die Bauausführung begann Ende 2011, die Fertigstellung soll Ende 2014 und die Übergabe des Gebäudes an den Bedarfsträger Anfang 2015 erfolgen.

h
h
h
h
h
h