Project management

Cycling and indoor swimming arena


ProjectConstruction of a cycling and indoor swimming arena
Project locationBerlin
Services SMVProject management
ClientOSB Sportstätten GmbH, Berlin
ArchitectsDominique Perrault, Paris / APP, Berlin
Construction costsapprox. EUR 296 million
Realisation period1993-1998
Contact person SMVThomas Lewicz
Project description

The project was conceived as part of the immediate construction measures for the Olympic Games as part of the city of Berlin’s application to host the Olympic competitions for track cycling, swimming and artistic jumping in 2000. After Sydney had been chosen as the venue, the project was redesigned for a multifunctional permanent use, but the requirements for the use of the competition venues were kept at the same level as for world championships.

The two large sports halls with their main building mass were erected below the surrounding ground level with a clearance height of 13 m. For this purpose, almost 500,000 m³ of excavated soil was transported by rail from a temporary loading point directly at the project to the final landfill site.

Role SMV

SMV was appointed as leading partner of the office community. PROMOS was commissioned for the entire scope of project management services and the entire implementation period.

The scope of services also included the demolition of the cold storage complex located on the site, the dismantling of a freight station for the slaughterhouses and cold stores located there, which was incorporated into the building plot, as well as the laying of a main heating line in the road area and the undercutting of the mainline and suburban railway tracks in operation for the transport connection of the nearby Landsberger Allee suburban railway station through a pedestrian tunnel.

Immediately after the decision for the competition design by architect Dominique Perrault, PROMOS was commissioned with all areas of project management across all project stages 1 to 5.

Customer benefits

After the negative decision of the venue for Berlin Olympia 2000, the associated replanning for multifunctional permanent use and the construction of the swimming hall, which was started a year later due to the dismantling of the cold storage facility, opinions were voiced in the budget committees of the state of Berlin that no longer wanted to realize the construction of the swimming hall. The short-term, active elaboration of decision alternatives by PROMOS with the respective cost consequences prevented the building, which had been designed as an overall object in terms of functionality, traffic development, architecture and urban planning, from becoming an unattractive torso for public use. Instead, the capped budget set by the state was realised within the originally planned timeframe through considerable savings without any loss of functionality and quality.

The project has provided proof of the high quality of the project through the annual Berlin 6-day races as well as national and international championships in the swimming pool hall.

Projektmanagement

Rad- und Schwimmsporthalle


ProjektNeubau einer Rad- und Schwimmsporthalle
ProjektstandortBerlin
Leistungen SMVProjektsteuerung
AuftraggeberOSB Sportstätten GmbH, Berlin
ArchitektenDominique Perrault, Paris / APP, Berlin
Baukostenca. 296 Mio. EUR
Realisierungszeitraum1993-1998
Ansprechpartner SMVThomas Lewicz
Projektbeschreibung

Das Projekt wurde als Teil der Olympia-Sofortbaumaßnahmen im Rahmen der Olympiabewerbung 2000 der Stadt Berlin als Austragungsort olympischer Wettkämpfe für das Bahnradfahren, Schwimmen und Kunstspringen konzipiert. Nach der Entscheidung für Sydney als Austragungsort fand eine Umplanung für eine multifunktionale Dauernutzung statt, bei der die Nutzungsanforderungen für die Wettkampstätten jedoch auf dem Niveau für Weltmeisterschaften gehalten wurden.

Die beiden Sportgroßhallen sind mit ihrer Hauptbaumasse unterhalb des umgebenden Geländeniveaus mit einer lichten Höhe von 13 m errichtet worden. Dazu wurden nahezu 500.000 m³ ausgehobenes Erdreich von einer temporären Ladestelle unmittelbar am Projekt per Bahntransport zur Enddeponie abgefahren.

Rolle SMV

SMV wurde als federführender Partner der Bürogemeinschaft
PROMOS für den gesamten Projektsteuerungsleistungsumfang und den gesamten Realisierungszeitraum beauftragt.

Zum Leistungsumfang gehörten auch der Abbruch des auf dem Gelände befindlichen Kühlhauskomplexes, der Rückbau eines dort befindlichen Güterbahnhofes für die Schlachthöfe und Kühlhäuser, der in das Baugrundstück einbezogen wurde, sowie die Verlegung einer Hauptwärmetrasse im Straßenland und die Unterfahrung der in Betrieb befindlichen Fernbahn- und S-Bahngleise für die Verkehrsanbindung des nahen S-Bahnhofes Landsberger Allee durch einen Fußgängertunnel.

PROMOS wurde unmittelbar nach Entscheidung für den Wettbewerbsentwurf des Architekten Dominique Perrault mit allen Handlungsbereichen des Projektmanagements über alle Projektstufen
1 bis 5 tätig.

Kundennutzen

Nach der für Berlin negativen Entscheidung des Austragungsortes
Olympia 2000, der damit verbundenen Umplanung auf multifunktionale Dauernutzung und des wegen des Kühlhausrückbaus um ein Jahr später begonnenen Baus der Schwimmhalle wurden Meinungen in den Haushaltsgremien des Landes Berlin laut, die den Bau der Schwimmhalle nicht mehr realisieren wollten. Durch die kurzfristige, aktive Ausarbeitung von Entscheidungsalternativen von PROMOS mit den jeweiligen Kostenkonsequenzen konnte verhindert werden, dass das in seiner Funktionalität, verkehrlichen Erschließung, architektonisch und stadtplanerisch als Gesamtobjekt konzipierte Bauwerk nicht als ein für die öffentliche Nutzung unattraktiver Torso entstanden ist. Stattdessen wurde das vom Land festgesetzte Deckelbudget durch erhebliche Einsparungen ohne Einbußen in der Funktionalität und Qualität in dem ursprünglich vorgesehenen Zeitrahmen realisiert.

Durch die alljährlichen Berliner 6-Tage-Rennen sowie nationale und internationale Meisterschaften in der Schwimmhalle hat das Projekt den Beleg für die hohe Qualität geliefert.